Complete Guide to the 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup

The 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup is set to be an exciting event, taking place in the United States and the Caribbean. As we gear up for this global cricket showpiece, we at Galera Bet are thrilled to cover all the matches, offering a wide selection of betting markets and generous odds for our customers. Here's everything you need to know about the tournament, its schedule, participating teams, venues, and rules.

Schedule and Start Date

The 2024 Men's T20 World Cup begins on 2 June at 01:30 BST, with the United States hosting Canada in Texas. The tournament will run until 29 June, with the final scheduled to be held in Barbados at 15:30 BST. Matches are spread across various time slots to cater to a global audience, with games starting at 00:30, 01:30, 15:30, 16:30, 18:00, or 20:00 BST. This ensures that fans from different parts of the world can tune in to watch their favourite teams in action.

The initial group stage, featuring 20 teams divided into four groups of five, will take place from 2 June to 18 June. Each day will see at least one match, with many days featuring two or three matches. After the group stage, the top two teams from each group will progress to the Super 8s, held from 19 June to 25 June. This will be followed by the semi-finals on 27 June, leading up to the final on 29 June.

The full fixture list is available, detailing start times and venues for each match. This comprehensive schedule allows fans to plan their viewing and follow their favourite teams throughout the tournament.


The 2024 Men's T20 World Cup is notable for being the largest edition yet, featuring 20 teams. The tournament format returns to an older structure where all teams start in the initial group stage. Each team will play four matches in their group, and the top two from each group will move on to the Super 8s. The Super 8s consist of two groups of four, with pre-seeded teams based on their rankings: India, Pakistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.

Teams are awarded points based on their performance: two points for a win, one for a no-result, and none for a loss. In the Super 8s, the top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals, where the group winners will face the runners-up from the other group. The winners of the semi-finals will then compete in the final.

Competing Teams

This year's tournament sees participation from a diverse set of teams, with only Zimbabwe missing out after failing to qualify. The teams are divided into four groups for the initial phase:

  • Group A: Canada, India (A1), Ireland, Pakistan (A2), USA
  • Group B: Australia (B2), England (B1), Namibia, Oman, Scotland
  • Group C: Afghanistan, New Zealand (C1), Papua New Guinea, Uganda, West Indies (C2)
  • Group D: Bangladesh, Nepal, Netherlands, South Africa (D1), Sri Lanka (D2)

Each group is a mix of traditional cricketing powerhouses and emerging teams, making the group stage an exciting and unpredictable affair. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super 8s, where the competition will intensify.

Venues and Stadiums

The 2024 T20 World Cup will be hosted across various venues in the United States and the Caribbean. This marks the first major global cricket event to be held in the United States. The matches in the United States will take place in:

  • Florida: Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium
  • New York: Nassau County International Cricket Stadium
  • Texas: Grand Prairie Stadium

In the Caribbean, matches will be hosted in:

  • Antigua & Barbuda: Sir Vivian Richards Stadium
  • Barbados: Kensington Oval
  • Guyana: Guyana National Stadium
  • Saint Lucia: Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium
  • St. Vincent & the Grenadines: Arnos Vale Playing Field
  • Trinidad & Tobago: Brian Lara Cricket Academy

These venues are equipped to provide a world-class experience for both players and fans, with facilities designed to accommodate international cricket standards.


The tournament will be played in a T20 format, where each team faces 20 overs. Key rules include:

  • Powerplay: Each innings starts with a six-over powerplay with fielding restrictions.
  • Match Duration: Matches are scheduled to last three hours and 10 minutes, with each innings allocated one hour and 25 minutes, separated by a 20-minute interval.
  • Stop-Clock: The tournament will introduce a 'stop-clock' rule, requiring the bowling side to be ready to bowl each over within 60 seconds of the previous one finishing.
  • Reviews: Each team is allowed two unsuccessful reviews per innings.
  • Super Over: If the match is tied after 20 overs, a super over will decide the winner. If still tied, additional super overs will be played until a winner is determined.
  • Minimum Overs: In group stages, a minimum of five overs per side must be played for a result. In semi-finals and final, this increases to 10 overs.
  • DLS Method: The Duckworth Lewis Stern method will be used for matches affected by weather, ensuring a fair result.
  • Reserve Days: The first semi-final and the final have a reserve day. The second semi-final has an additional 250 minutes of extra time allowed.

This year's tournament promises to be a thrilling competition with top teams and emerging nations battling it out for the title. Fans can look forward to exciting matches, world-class venues, and a unique blend of cricketing talent from around the globe. At Galera Bet, we are ready to bring you all the action with comprehensive coverage, a wide range of betting markets, and competitive odds. Head over to our sportsbook to start planning your betting strategy today.